When winning is the only option

Governor Corbett Signs New Pennsylvania Distracted Driving Law

Two weeks ago today, Pennsylvania became the 30th state to make texting and driving illegal. The bill was signed into law by Governor Corbett on November 9. The new Pennsylvania distracted driving law makes it illegal to send, read or write a text based message while driving a vehicle that is in motion.

The prohibition applies equally to texts, emails, instant messages, and web browsing on a wireless device.

Drivers found violating the law may be pulled over since the law makes texting and driving a primary offense in Pennsylvania. Drivers may face a $50 fine for the first offense.

The law will be enforceable 120 days following the November 9 signing. However, if you are hurt by a distracted driver or a driver who is texting while driving at any time then it is important to contact a PA auto accident lawyer for a free consultation about your rights and potential recovery.

  • Categories

  • Statewide Personal Injury Results
  • Get Started For Free

    Get started for free with our no obligation consultation if you think you may have a case. If we do accept your case, you pay us nothing until we successfully recover money for you! Find out how we can help.

    Start Live Chat

    We’re available 24/7. Click to chat with a live representative now.


    Discuss your case with a personal injury attorney. Call us at (484) 351-0350 to learn if we can help you.

    Free Case Evaluation

    Get started by scheduling your case evaluation.